Over the years swimwear for the plus size woman has become more fashionable with more variety of options available for each individual. It all started when Gabifresh designed the fatkini in 2011. I had seen plus size fashion vendors make two piece bathing suits before in which I did not have them long, Gabi’s were different. Instead of being like every other bikini it was made for a woman who are looking for more support or coverage.

Ever since, I have a swimwear wardrobe that was more vast than the one or two swimsuits or one pieces that I had to choose from in previous years. This is especially true since summers in the Southwest are much longer I am at the pool several times a week versus the short summer in the Northeast in which I only went a few times a year or modeled a suit once or twice a year. It has even given me a chance to figure out which brands or styles I am not interested in.

Depending on your size and the designer buying early is sometimes key. The suits that I bought last year I purchased in February. Some I was able to find on clearance by the end of the summer in which it was still hot here. Therefore since I have not won the lottery I am unable to buy them all at once. Let’s hope that I can catch them before they sell out!

 With this being this is my summer 2017 swimsuit picks!

raw-1

Gabi works with Swimsuitsforall every year. Her collection usually drops after the holiday season. I am addicted to cactus so this is the first one on my list! What I find great about her collection is that if you are interested in a two piece you can order the top at a different size from the bottom. This is especially true for me since I am pear-shaped and usually wear a smaller size on the top versus the bottom. This year she dropped some fabulous cover ups as well which unfortunately have sold out in my size but, Swimsuitsforall does let you be put on a wait list. Just check out their “SOLD OUT IN YOUR SIZE” link, check the size you want, and add your email address.

Milestone Underwire Bikini

m_641249bkgh

Midnight Fireworks Dress

8af1e57f-cb03-4b16-8a10-eb380ae1105a

I have been buying from Rue 107 for some time now. They are by far one of my favorite Indie designers. Not only do I have swimwear from this designer but, also clothes. Constantly get compliments on the designs. Most of the tops that she sells can are versitale that you can wear them as swimwear. Look for the sheer designs for a cover up. Plus, I love the long sleeve options as coverage is everything when I am spending a day at the beach.

Chanel Bikini Top and Chanel 2.0 Full Coverage Bikini Bottom in Midnight Nude 

chanel_2-0_midnight1_1024x1024

 

Monif C. is another designer that made options fashionable for the plus size woman. Every year she provides unique colorful options such as neon and metallic. Sometimes if you missed the previous years options she might make a similar design for the next. Last year, I missed out on her rashguard/long sleeve designs.  This year thankfully, she has them again!

Rashguard Plus Size Bikini Top 

8_1_6

 

Last year I think I discovered Curvykini by a plus size blogger. The collection offers bright now it offers bright colors and fishnet cutouts on her suits. Reminds me of the suits I had in the eighties. I really hope to dig into this designer this summer.

‘BREE’ 1 PIECE 

bree5wm

Torrid has been adding great options every year. You can easily find Disney themed suits here. Plus they have some basics with trendy prints. This year I love the retro styles and the coverage.

Striped Halter Bik i Top and Striped Skater Skirt Swim Bottom  

7e100be754f6c61decbe077b36846718

Lastly, an affordable option is Walmart. They have an array of designs that are basic, retro, and trendy. Since their stores are almost everywhere you can easily buy swimwear on your trip. However, I find that most of their swimwear is not offered in the store but, online. If it is in the store they only seem to stock limited quantities so when you go back it sells out quickly. Online is a little bit slower but, if it is a trendy print it will go. I have a couple of their swimwear and they are pretty decent and have lasted me years.

Suddenly Slim by Catalina Plus Size Slimming Retro Ruffled Swimdress

898aabab-2700-4607-9164-0032d5fad854_1-d4c7fa24e3bbbf3395f47886f5793300

There are all kinds of options out there this year for plus size swim. These are what are listed right now. With people into the resort season and Spring Break designs are out before it even gets warm in some place. However, by the time the summer comes there will be more. Who knows maybe I will have another post. You can also check out my previous blog post Fav Swimwear for reviews of what I do own from previous years.

Make sure you check out these plus size fashion vendors that offer swimwear to see what catches your eye!

Asos 

Macys

Ashley Stewart

Chuck Handy

City Chic

Full Beauty

Alwaysforme

Unique Vintage

One thought on “Swimwear 2017 Picks

Leave a Reply

